Current AffairsIndia

Voting in 17 Lok Sabha constituencies begins in Telangana

Hyderabad, Apr 11 (GCCurrentAffairs) Amid elaborate arrangements and tight security, voting in all the 17 Lok Sabha constituencies began at 0700 hours on Thursday to decide the fate of 443 contestants including 25 women candidates.

This is the first Lok Sabha election in Telangana after it came into being in 2014.

The voting will continue till 1700 hours except in the booths located in extremists dominated areas where it will end an hour earlier at 1600 hours.

Long queues of voters including women were seen at several polling booths right from the voting started.

The polling in Nizamabad constituency where the highest number of 185 candidates are in the fray will begin at 0800 and will end at 1800 hours.

No poll related incidents were reported so far, and in constituencies identified as sensitive. Additional security forces were deployed to ensure free and fair poll.

The counting of votes polled in the single phase election in the state today will be taken up on May 23 after the end of the seven-phase election across the country on May 19.

Via UNI-India

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker