33.1 C
Wednesday, June 26, 2024

56.38 lakh voters eligible for using franchise in HP on June 1


Share post:


Shimla: Himachal Pradesh would go to the polls for the four Lok Sabhas and bye-election of six assembly vacant seats on June 1 with 56.38 eligible voters and 138918 would press the button of the electronic voting machine for the first time.

Chief Electrol Officer of the state, Manish Garg, informed that around 2.50 percent, or 138918 youth of the age group of 18 to 19 years, enrolled in the electrol roll, including 75001 men, 63916 women, and one third gender.

Releasing the demographic profile of constituents CEO informed that ECI published the roll of voters in the state eligible until April 2024.

According to the current data from the ECI, around 56.38 lakh voters, including 281545 males, 2757660 females, and 35 third-gender voters, are eligible to use their franchise.

The state has 1040756, or 19 percent, of voters in the age group of 20 to 29 and 60995 in the age group of 85. All the electorate of 85 and above would be extended the facility of polling on their door steps a day ahead of polling, and if any person of this age group is left out, they may apply for this facility.

The CEO informed us that people belonging to the 85+ age group need not bother to visit the polling station and would extend the facility of voting sitting at home by filling out a form.

The ECI window or front desk to register new voters would be open until the issuing of notification on May 7, 2024, and those who have attained the age group of 18 years in the months of July to October 2024 could enroll.

Mr. Manish Garg said that until the nomination is filed, new names will be included in the voter list.

Tashiganga is the world’s highest polling station.

Situated at a height of 15256 feet above sea level, Tashigang Monestry in the Spiti Valley of Lahaul Spiti district under Mandi Parliamentary Constituency would be the highest polling station in the state, having near 50 voters. Kaa-6 in Kalpa in Kinnaur district would be the smallest polling district, with only 16 electorate in 5 rural areas.

The Shimla Parliamentary Summerhill-2 polling station would have only 34 votes.

Under Kangra Parliamentary Manol-1 polling station in Dalhousie assembly of Chamba district, there are the highest 1410 voters.

ECI has constituted a total 7990 polling stations in the state, which is 267 more than the previous election. In the state, about 231 polling stations have more than 1200 voters.

Related articles

Owaisi’s ‘Jai Palestine’ in Indian Parliament is a Muslim appeasement ‘Nautanki’

In a surprising and unprecedented move, Member of Parliament (MP) Asaduddin Owaisi of the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen...

Will support Speaker if Dy Speaker post given to Oppn: Rahul

New Delhi: Congress leader Rahul Gandhi on Tuesday said that the Opposition will support the Government’s Speaker choice...

Telecom spectrum auction begins, valuing at Rs 96,238 cr at base price

New Delhi: Three telecom operators—Reliance Jio Infocomm, Bharti Airtel, and Vodafone Idea—are vying for additional telecom spectrum, for...

China’s Chang’e-6 brings back first samples from moon’s far side to Earth

Beijing: The returner of the Chang'e-6 probe touched down on Earth on Tuesday, bringing back the world's first...