44.1 C
Thursday, June 13, 2024

Ashes test: Australia hogs Day 1 as Head, Smith shines


Share post:


London: Australia hogged Day 1 of the second Ashes Test even after losing the toss as they reached 339/5 at stumps at Lord’s on Wednesday.

Steve Smith and Alex Carey were batting on 85 and 11, respectively.

Australia could have added some more runs if not for the couple of wickets – Travis Head and Cameron Green – by makeshift offspinner Joe Root.

David Warner and Usman Khawaja started off by weathering the new ball, and were lucky as the English fielders dropped catches. Warner grabbed the opportunity and played his trademark innings as England overpitched.

As Australia raced to 73 in 23 overs, a great ball from Josh Tongue cleaned up Khawaja (17), and then Warner who scored 66 off 88 balls, leaving the visitors at 96/2.

But Marnus Labuschagne and Smith added yet another 100-run stand, and that was bettered by an aggressive century stand between Head and Smith.

Head was absolutely ruthless on the England bowlers. There was a phase where he scored a boundary every over and England were searching for answers.

Root took the ball and had Head stumped and also got the bonus wicket of Green in the same over with a shocker of a shot.

At the end Carey played normal Test match cricket, while Smith looked solid as ever.

Related articles

The Resistance Front: A Rising Threat in Jammu and Kashmir

I crossed paths with the 'The Resistance Front (TRF)' when a grenade was launched at the home of...

Police attach residential house of a terror association in J&K’s Anantnag

Srinagar: Police on Thursday attached the property of an alleged terror associate in Jammu and Kashmir’s Anantnag district. Police...

Macron says Iran released French national Louis Arnaud arrested in 2022

Paris: French President Emmanuel Macron has said that Iran has released French national Louis Arnaud, who was arrested...

Nadal, Alcaraz included in Spanish tennis team for Paris 2024

Madrid: New French Open champion Carlos Alcaraz and veteran Rafael Nadal, who has won a record 14 times...