42.1 C
Wednesday, June 19, 2024

LS 2nd phase: PM Modi, Rahul urge voters


Share post:


New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge and Wayanad MP Rahul Gandhi among others on Friday urged voters, particularly the young first timers and women to cast their votes in large numbers as the second phase polling began for Lok Sabha.

PM Modi used several languages including Bangla, Assamese, Kannada and Hindi on social media platform, X, and posted, “Urging everyone in constituencies voting on Friday, in the second phase of the Lok Sabha elections, to participate in record numbers.”

“A high voter turnout strengthens our democracy. I especially urge our young voters and women voters to turn out in great numbers. Your vote is your voice,” he wrote on X.

The voting for the second phase of Lok Sabha elections began at 7 am, on 88 parliamentary constituencies spread across 12 states and the Union Territory of Jammu & Kashmir.

Congress leaders urged the public to vote and become ‘soldier of the Constitution’ to protect democracy from the ‘clutches of Dictatorship’.

Rahul Gandhi posted a video on X and said, “Your vote will decide whether the next government will be of a ‘few billionaires’ or of ‘140 crore Indians’. Therefore, it is the duty of every citizen to step out of their homes today and become a ‘soldier of the Constitution’ and vote to protect democracy.’

Mallikarjun Kharge too, took to X and said, “To all my dear citizens, from 89 constituencies in 13 states and UTs, do not get swayed by any diversionary tactics and lies. It is an election to protect democracy from the clutches of dictatorship.”

Urging the first voters to come out and vote, Kharge said, “Cut the clutter and distance the din, for you are the real changemakers, and I welcome each one of you in this movement for democracy.”

Voting is taking place in all 20 seats in Kerala, 14 of 28 seats in Karnataka, 13 seats in Rajasthan, eight seats each in Uttar Pradesh and Maharashtra, six seats in Madhya Pradesh, five seats each in Assam and Bihar, three seats each in West Bengal and Chhattisgarh, and one seat each in Manipur, Tripura, and Jammu and Kashmir.

A total of 1,206 candidates candidates are in the fray in this phase.

Over 16 lakh polling officials will welcome over 15.88 crore voters across 1.67 lakh polling stations mostly till 6 pm.

Related articles

Amit Shah’s Mission: Restore Peace in Manipur

In a high-level meeting, two days ago, chaired by Union Home Minister Amit Shah with key officials to...

PM in Bihar to inaugurate new Nalanda campus

Nalanda/Gaya: Prime Minister Narendra Modi arrived in Bihar's Gaya on Wednesday for his one day tour when he...

Sikkim: 1,225 stranded tourists evacuated so far

Gangtok: As evacuation efforts enter day three on Wednesday, officials confirm that 1,225 of travellers stranded in Sikkim's...

At least 550 Hajj pilgrims die in scorching heat

Mecca: The Hajj pilgrimage in Saudi Arabia has witnessed at least 550 deaths due to scorching heat in...