31.1 C
Friday, September 22, 2023

Mallikarjun Kharge in fray for Congress president, Digvijay may step back


Share post:

New Delhi: Senior Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge will file his nomination for the post of Congress president on Friday. Digvijay Singh, who collected the nomination forms on Thursday is meanwhile likely to opt out of the race after Kharge’s decision, sources said.

Digvijaya Singh meanwhile met party Kharge on Friday morning. Sources said he will not file his nomination now since Kharge is in fray.

Kharge is being seen as the candidate backed by the Gandhi family for the post. Thiruvananthapuram MP Shashi Tharoor is also likely to file his nomination today.

On Friday morning, Tharoor reached Raj Ghat in New Delhi to pay tributes to Mahatma Gandhi ahead of filing his nomination. Asked about the contest, he said, “When you enter a race, you know that the outcome is uncertain but you go with confidence that you’ll give a good account of yourself.”

“We are all party colleagues, we want the party to be strengthened. We are not rivals, there is going to be a friendly contest. We all want the party to be strong,” said Tharoor.

Asked about Kharge’s entry in the race, he said, “he is a respected colleague, it will be a good thing to have more people in the fray”.

Congress’ central election authority chairman Madhusudan Mistry meanwhile said they are ‘fully prepared’.

“We’re fully prepared to hold the elections for the party’s presidential post. Any person can submit his nomination form between 11am and 3pm today,” he said.

Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot on Thursday announced he will not contest for the post of Congress President.

Gehlot, who was the front runner in the race for Congress President before a rebellion by his supporters in Rajasthan, said he apologised to Sonia Gandhi that he could not get the resolution passed despite being the chief minister.

September 30 is the last day for filing nominations for the post of Congress President.

Scrutiny of nominations will be held on October 1.

The nominations can be withdrawn till 3 pm on October 8, and the first list of candidates will be published at 5 pm on the same day.

If there are more than one candidate, the election will be held on October 17 and counting will be held on October 19 and results will be declared.

Related articles

Kerala to hike financial aid for setting up micro ventures in handicrafts sector

Thiruvananthapuram: In a big support to the handicrafts sector, the Kerala Government has decided to steeply increase the...

Bangladesh suffers worst day of dengue with record number of deaths

Dhaka: Bangladesh has suffered its worst day yet of the dengue this year as deaths of the disease...

PM to visit Varanasi to inaugurate 16 Atal Awasiya Vidyalaya on Sep 23

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi will visit Varanasi on Saturday to inaugurate 16 Atal Awasiya Vidyalayas built...

Xi to attend opening ceremony of 19th Asian Games, hold diplomatic events

Beijing: On Sept. 22 and 23, Chinese President Xi Jinping will attend the opening ceremony of the 19th...