35.1 C
Friday, June 21, 2024

Manipur: Re-polling underway in 11 polling stations


Share post:


Imphal: Re-election is taking place on Monday at 11 polling stations under the Inner Manipur parliamentary constituency following violence reported in the April 19 voting process when miscreants threatened voters, destroyed Electronic Voting Machines and opened fire.

Voting began at 7 am amid tight security with additional forces present at Moirangkampu Sajeb Upper Primary School and S. Ibobi Primary School (East Wing) in the Khurai assembly constituency, four stations in Kshetrigao, one in Thongju, three in Uripok, and one in Konthoujam.

The April 19 election in the first phase of the two phase polling scheduled in the ethnic conflict-ridden state was deemed null and void by the Election Commission following complains by the INDI alliance bloc’s Congress party alleging its polling agents, workers were threatened by armed individuals capturing various booths.

The Congress filed complaints demanding re-polling at 47 polling stations — 36 in Inner Manipur constituency and 11 in Outer Manipur seat – alleging that armed persons had voted for a particular candidate by overpowering poll officials.

The polling stations identified for re-polling are Moirangkampu Sajeb Upper Primary School, S Ibobi Primary School (East Wing), Khurai Thangjam Leikai in Khurai assembly constituency; Bamon Kampu Upper Primary School (North A), Pioneer Academy, Bamon Kampu (North-B), Irilbung High School (North Wing), Bamon Kampu (South West), Irilbung High School (South Wing), Bamon Kampu (South East) in Kshetrigao assembly constituency; National Children’s School, Khongman Zone (V)-A in Thongju AC; Iroisemba Upper Primary School (Eastern Wing), Iroisemba UPS (Western Wing), & Iroisemba UPS (Middle Wing) in Uripok AC; and Khaidem Primary School (Southern Wing), Khaidem Makha in Konthoujam AC.

The first phase poll was held in 47 Assembly segments of both seats in Manipur. The turnout was 72.17 percent, with the inner seat reporting 76.05 percent and the outer seat reporting 65.22 percent.

As per Manipur Chief Electoral Officer’s order, “The Election Commission of India has, under Sections 58(2) and 58A(2) of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, directed that the poll taken on April 19 (Friday) in respect of 11 polling stations listed in the table below of 1-inner Manipur parliamentary constituency to be void and appointed April 22, 2024 (Monday) as the date for taking fresh poll at the said polling stations with hours of poll from 7 am to 5 pm.”

The second phase of election will be held on April 26.

Related articles

Times Square, Dhaka, Fiji, Tokyo, UN – Yoga enthusiasts across world mark IYD with enthusiasm

New Delhi: From doing basic yoga postures, to some attempting the difficult headstand or even the mayurasana (peacock...

Yoga helps in harnessing aggressive capabilities of soldiers: Rajnath Singh

New Delhi: Defence Minister Rajnath Singh on Friday asserted that yoga helps in harnessing the aggressive capabilities which...

Himachal: Four die as HRTC bus falls into gorge

Shimla: Four persons were killed and three others injured when a bus fell into a gorge in Shimla...

T20 WC: Cummins’ hat-trick leads Aus to crucial win in rain-interrupted match

Antigua: Pat Cummins' stunning hat-trick, along with a fiery innings from David Warner, propelled Australia to a crucial...