14.1 C
Sunday, December 3, 2023

Reservations to be made to Maratha communities without affecting community quotas: Shinde


Share post:


Mumbai: Maharashtra state Chief Minister Eknath Shinde said unanimously decision has been taken in an all-party meeting that the reservation will be provided to Maratha community without touching any community reservation quota in the state.

He was speaking to mediapersons Monday night after the all party meeting held at Sahyadri Guest House under his chairmanship to resolve ongoing issue of Maratha reservation for which Maratha Activist Manoj Jarange-Patil was on hunger strike since last 14 days in Jalna district.

Shinde said all parties in the state are united in getting reservation for the Maratha community and concrete steps are being taken in that direction.

Therefore, the representatives of all the parties have requested Jarange-Patil to withdraw his fast.

At this time, the Chief Minister also announced that the action to withdraw the cases against the Maratha activists during this agitation has been started immediately.

Shinde said the government is trying very seriously for the Maratha reservation and it will be seen how the reservation can be given in the court without any compromise. While doing this, injustice will not be done to other communities, so he also requested that other communities should not follow the path of agitation.

The leaders present in the meeting also agreed with the efforts being made by the state government and presented their suggestions, said Shinde.

The meeting decided to take action against the Sub Divisional Officer and Additional Superintendent of Police concerned for not handling the situation properly during the fast.

It was also decided at this time that Jarange-Patil or his representative will be appointed in Justice Shinde Committee.

All the party leaders supported the efforts of the state government to give reservation to the Maratha community, for which Chief minister thanked them.

Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar, Ministers Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil, Chhagan Bhujbal, Girish Mahajan, Dadaji Bhuse, Leader of Opposition in Legislative Council Ambadas Danve, Leader of Opposition in Legislative Assembly Vijay Wadettiwar, invitees of various parties Chhatrapati Sambhaji Raje Bhosle, Jayant Patil, Balasaheb Thorat, Anil Parab, Rajesh Tope, Chandrasekhar Bawankule, Raju Patil, Vinod Nikolay, Sadabhau Khot, Rajendra Gavai, Sunil Tatkare,Gautam Sonawane, Chief Secretary Manoj Saunik, as well as secretaries of various departments, senior officials were present at the meeting.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

Amit Panghal & Shiva Thapa clinch gold at National Boxing Championships

Shillong: Heavy favourites Amit Panghal (51kg) and Shiva Thapa (63.5kg) powered their way to impressive victories as they...

Law & order would be improved in 72 hours if his party voted to power in Bihar : Pappu Yadav

Patna: Patron of Jan Adhikar Party (JAP) Rajesh Ranjan alias Pappu Yadav on Saturday said that law and...

Ayodhya intl. airport phase-1 to be completed by Dec 15: Yogi

Ayodhya (UP): Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath on Saturday said the first phase of construction of Maryada...

Ready to discuss all issues in a structured debate: govt

New Delhi: The BJP-led Central government on Saturday said it was ready for discussions on all issues in...