16.1 C
Monday, December 4, 2023

About 38 pc polling until 1 p.m. in Chhattisgarh


Share post:


Raipur: An estimated 38 per cent voting was recorded until 1 p.m. on Friday in Chhattisgarh where exercise of franchise is underway amid heavy security arrangements across 70 Assembly constituencies in the second and final phase of polling.

Official sources provided the district-wise break-up as Korba 36 percent, Koriya 40, Gariaband 43, Gaurela-Pendra-Marwahi (a three-part name of a single district) 33, Jashpur 42, Janjgir-Champa 35, Durg 37, Dhamtari 43, Balrampur 45, Balodabazar-Bhatapara 41, Balod 43, Bilaspur 30, Bemetara 37, Manendragarh-Chirmiri-Bharatpur 36, Mahasamund 42, Mungeli 36, Raigarh 43, Raipur 32, Sakti 32, Surguja 41, Sarangarh 42 and Surajpur 45.

With the exception of isolated wrangles between political parties’ workers, no untoward incident was reported.

The polling centres number 18,833 and the timings are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. barring nine places in Leftwing extremism-affected Bindranawagarh constituency where the timings are 7 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Webcasting has been arranged at 9,424 centres and videography at hypersensitive ones.

The 1,63,14,479-strong electorate includes 81,72,171 women and 684 of the third gender. The fortunes of 958 candidates including 130 women and one of the third gender are being sealed in electronic voting machines.

The prominent nominees include Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel (Patan), his deputy Tribhuvaneshwar Saran Singh Deo (Ambikapur), Vidhan Sabha Speaker Charan Das Mahant (Sakti), BJP state President Arun Sao (Lormi), Janata Congress head Renu Jogi (Kota) and Union Minister of State for Tribal Affairs Renuka Singh Saruta (Bharatpur-Sonhat).

Counting is slated for December 3.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

‘Paanchvi baar Mama ki sarkar’, say people as BJP leads in Madhya Pradesh

With the BJP leading the voting trends in Madhya Pradesh, it is clear that the party is moving...

‘We humbly accept the mandate’, says Ashok Gehlot, to handover resignation today

After the counting trends have shown that the BJP will be forming the government in Rajasthan; in his...

Rajasthan continues with ‘alternate tenure’ trend as BJP leads in state

It was on November 25, 2023, that the citizens of the largest state of the country, Rajasthan, went...

Amit Panghal & Shiva Thapa clinch gold at National Boxing Championships

Shillong: Heavy favourites Amit Panghal (51kg) and Shiva Thapa (63.5kg) powered their way to impressive victories as they...