35.1 C
Sunday, July 14, 2024

CPI-M blames TIPRA Motha to help BJP to power in Tripura


Share post:


Agartala: After over one and half months of the Tripura assembly election result opposition CPI-M came out with a statement on Friday that TIPRA Motha party of royal scion Pradyot Kishore Debbarman has secured the victory of BJP by dividing opposition votes, claimed CPI-M state secretary Jitendra Chaudhury here on Friday.

The CPI-M party had constituted a constituency-level committee to review the election result, which appeared to be conclusive and submitted to the state committee, Chaudhury said and added, “After a detailed discussion and verification of facts the report has been accepted. It revealed that CPI(M)- Congress combines lost at least 16 seats in the 60-member assembly to TIPRA in 22 non-reserved seats beyond tribal reservations.

Had TIPRA not contested the general seats and eaten away the tribal votes in those seats, BJP would confine its victory to 11 constituencies only.

The CPI(M)- Congress has joined hands to fight against the misrule of BJP where TIPRA Motha was one of the stakeholders. Repeatedly they told their anti-BJP stand, in the election but finally, it came in reverse, which not only harmed the opposition parties but also affected their tally.

“The BJP lost at least 11 per cent of its vote share in the election than 2018 score and was able to form the government with 39 per cent votes and 33 seats. TIPRA Motha had an impression that they would be the deciding factor in the government but it went wrong rather BJP secured a comfortable victory,” Chaudhury pointed out.

He went on to claim that in the 22 non-reserved seats, even if Motha candidates got 100 pc of the tribal votes, they would not have won in any of the constituencies, but they gave a chance to BJP in these constituencies.

However, still, left parties believed whatever happened in the past needed to be rectified and continued to fight united against the anti-people rule of BJP in the state.

“We tried sincerely to reconcile with TIPRA Motha till the last moment. Unfortunately, there was no compromise. It’s true, Motha was against BJP even though they did not join the Left-Congress alliance. But some of their highest-level leaders secretly helped BJP for their personal gain,” Chaudhury mentioned

Related articles

Vikravandi bypoll win will be etched in golden words in DMK’s history : Stalin

Chennai: Buoyed by the massive victory in the bypoll to the Vikravandi Assembly seat, Tamil Nadu Chief Minister...

KP Sharma Oli to be sworn in Nepal prime minister on Sunday

Kathmandu: Former Prime Minister and chairman of the CPN-UML party has staked his claim to the post of...

TMC Kalyani wins Raiganj assembly seat by-poll defeating BJP candidate

Kolkata: West Bengal ruling the Trinamool Congress' electoral juggernaut continued to reign for the past two decades in...

On ‘martyrs day’ J&K politicians put under ‘house arrest’, barred from visiting old city

Srinagar: Former chief minister Mehbooba Mufti and several political leaders in Jammu and Kashmir on Saturday claimed that...