35.1 C
Thursday, June 13, 2024

Rajya Sabha polls: BJP nominates JP Nadda from Gujarat, Chavan from Maharashtra


Share post:


New Delhi: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday nominated National President Jagat Prakash Nadda from Gujarat and former Maharashtra Chief Minister Ashok Chavan, who quit Congress and joined BJP on Tuesday, from his home state for the Rajya Sabha elections.

BJP General Secretary Arun Singh announced the names of a total of seven candidates from Maharashtra and Gujarat in a statement here.

Besides Nadda from Gujarat, Govind Bhai Dholakia, Mayank Bhai Nayak, and Jaswant Singh Salam Singh Parmar have been nominated as Rajya Sabha candidates from Gujarat, while alongside Chavan, Medha Kulkarni and Dr Ajit Gopchhade from Maharashtra.

Earlier in the day, the BJP had given Rajya Sabha tickets to Union Ministers Ashwini Vaishnav and L. Murugan, thereby making it unlikely for them to contest Lok Sabha elections.

The party released a list of five candidates today for the biennial Rajya Sabha elections from Madhya Pradesh and Odisha, including the names of these two Union Ministers.

The BJP’s Central Election Committee has approved these names, Arun Singh said.

The BJP has re-nominated L. Murugan from Madhya Pradesh, while the other three candidates including Umesh Nath Maharaj, Maya Naroliya, and Bansilal Gurjar, who have been given tickets, are new. The party has fielded Ashwini Vaishnav from Odisha.

Related articles

Fire in Kuwait Claims 41 Indian Workers

On a tragic Wednesday in southern Kuwait, a devastating fire in the Al-Mangaf building claimed the lives of...

Delhi Water Crisis: SC questions AAP govt on ‘tanker mafia’ measures

New Delhi: The Supreme Court Wednesday came down heavily on the national capital's Aam Aadmi Party government over...

Sitharaman takes over as FM; vows to continue with NDA’s dev agenda

New Delhi: Continuing her role in the previous government, Nirmala Sitharaman on Wednesday took charge as Union Finance...

J&K: Five Army soldiers, SPO injured, CRPF jawan succumbs in twin terror attacks in Doda, Kathua

Jammu: Five Army soldiers and a Special Police Officer (SPO) of Jammu and Kashmir police suffered injuries, while...