32.8 C
Tuesday, April 16, 2024

West Indies rest Joseph & Hetmyer among squad reshuffle for England


Share post:


Trinidad: The West Indies have re-shuffled their playing group by making two changes to their squad for the final two T20Is at home against England.

The Caribbean side currently lead the five-match series 2-1 and can clinch a series triumph with a victory in the fourth game in Trinidad on Tuesday or the final clash at the same venue on Thursday.

They have opted to make a pair of changes for the final two matches of the series, with fast bowler Alzarri Joseph and experienced batter Shimron Hetmyer dropping out of the 15-player group and replaced by pacer Oshane Thomas and Johnson Charles.

The decision to rest Joseph is made with one eye on next month’s tour of Australia, where the West Indies will play two Tests against the reigning ICC World Test Championship winners in Adelaide and Brisbane and a total of six white-ball (three ODIs and three T20Is) contests, an ICC report said.

Joseph is a key member of the West Indies’ fast bowling unit in all three formats and is currently the equal leading wicket-taker during the T20I series against England with six scalps.

West Indies squad: Rovman Powell (c). Shai Hope (vc), Johnson Charles, Roston Chase, Matthew Forde, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd, Oshane Thomas.

Related articles

PM Modi slated to hold two BJP rallies in West Bengal’s northern districts

Kolkata: Prime Minister Narendra Modi will address two election rallies for BJP at Balurghat and Raiganj in West...

ISRO Chairman seeks coordination among space agencies to tackle space debris

Bengaluru: Given the challenges posed by space debris and the growing traffic in space, ISRO Chairman S Somanath...

BSP releases 5th list of 11 candidates for LS polls in UP

Lucknow: Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) on Tuesday released its fifth list of 11 candidates for Lok Sabha elections...

TPCC urges CEC to allow Live telecast of Seetharama Kalyanam in Bhadrachalam

Hyderabad: Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee (TPCC) Senior Vice President G Niranjan has urged Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Rajiv...