41.1 C
Wednesday, June 12, 2024

Two South Africa stars ruled out of India ODI series


Share post:


Gqeberha: South Africa Pacer Ottniel Baartman and all-rounder Andile Phehlukwayo will miss the remaining two matches of the ODI series against India due to a side strain.

Baartman suffered a right side strain during training while Phehlukwayo still sustained a left side strain during the opening match of the series in Johannesburg.

Fast bowler Beuran Hendricks has been drafted into the squad to replace the injured players. The 33-year-old Hendricks has represented South Africa in all three formats of the game, having played one Test, eight ODIs and 19 T20Is since making his international debut in 2014, an ICC report said.

Hendricks last played an ODI for South Africa in 2021 and was part of the Proteas contingent in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019, where he played one match against Afghanistan.

South Africa will be hoping to bounce back in the series after a crushing defeat in the first ODI. The Indian pacers ran through the batting lineup and bowled them out for 116. Arshdeep made early inroad and secured a five-wicket haul while Avesh Khan picked four wickets.

Sai Sudharsan made an impressive unbeaten fifty on debut and together with Shreyas Iyer (52 off 45 balls) took India to a comfortable eight-wicket win inside 17 overs.

The second ODI will be played on December 19 at Gqeberha before the action moves to Paarl for the final match on December 21.

South Africa’s squad for the last two ODIs: Aiden Markram (c), Nandre Burger, Tony de Zorzi, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Mihlali Mpongwana, David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, and Lizaad Williams.

Related articles

Fire in Kuwait Claims 41 Indian Workers

On a tragic Wednesday in southern Kuwait, a devastating fire in the Al-Mangaf building claimed the lives of...

Delhi Water Crisis: SC questions AAP govt on ‘tanker mafia’ measures

New Delhi: The Supreme Court Wednesday came down heavily on the national capital's Aam Aadmi Party government over...

Sitharaman takes over as FM; vows to continue with NDA’s dev agenda

New Delhi: Continuing her role in the previous government, Nirmala Sitharaman on Wednesday took charge as Union Finance...

J&K: Five Army soldiers, SPO injured, CRPF jawan succumbs in twin terror attacks in Doda, Kathua

Jammu: Five Army soldiers and a Special Police Officer (SPO) of Jammu and Kashmir police suffered injuries, while...