11.1 C
Monday, December 11, 2023

FIFA Women’s World Cup play-offs starts to decide last 3 berths


Share post:


Beijing: The Play-offs of the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup kicked off in Auckland and Hamilton, New Zealand, and will run until Feb. 23 to fill the last three berths of the 32-team finals, to be played from July 20 to Aug. 20 in Australia and New Zealand.

The play-offs witness 10 teams divided in three groups, and only the group winners will attend the global finals.

The play-offs will not be played on the round-and-robin format. Instead, Portugal will face off against the winner between Cameroon and Thailand to fight for the berth in Group A.

In Group B, Senegal and Haiti will vie for the right to challenge Chile, while in Group C, the winners from Chinese Taipei vs Paraguay and Papua New Guinea vs Panama will square off for the ticket.

Ten venues across nine host cities in Australia and New Zealand will hold the first-ever 32-team women’s World Cup.

China were drawn into Group D alongside tough opponents England and Denmark. The last team of Group D will be the winner of the play-offs Group B.

Following is the draw for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup:

Group A: New Zealand, Norway, the Philippines, Switzerland

Group B: Australia, Ireland, Nigeria, Canada

Group C: Spain, Costa Rica, Zambia, Japan

Group D: China, England, Denmark, Group B play-off winner

Group E: United States, Vietnam, the Netherlands, Group A play-off winner

Group F: France, Jamaica, Brazil, Group C play-off winner

Group G: Sweden, South Africa, Italy, Argentina

Group H: Germany, Morocco, Colombia, South Korea


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

Alleged killers of Gogamedi nabbed from Chandigarh hotel

On the night of Saturday, December 9, two teams of Rajasthan and Delhi police, nabbed the alleged killers...

Mayawati’s nephew Akash Anand announced as next BSP chief

On Sunday, December 10, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) National President, Mayawati, announced her 28-year-old nephew, Akash Ananad, as...

Vishnu Deo Sai to be Chhattisgarh CM, says ‘Will work for Modi Ki Guarantee’

Ending the suspense over who the Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh will be, the Bharatiya Janata Party, on Sunday,...

BSP Amroha MP Danish Ali suspended for ‘anti-party’ activities

On Saturday, December 9, the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) suspended its Lok Sabha MP from Amroha, Danish Ali,...