41.1 C
Sunday, May 26, 2024

Australia announces surprising squad for T20 WC defence


Share post:


Melbourne: In a surprising move, the 2021 T20 World Cup champions Australia have unveiled their squad for the upcoming tournament in the West Indies and the USA, leaving out seasoned players Steve Smith, Jason Behrendorff, and others.

The squad, led by Mitchell Marsh, includes some unexpected inclusions and exclusions. Young talent Jake Fraser-McGurk misses out, while left-arm spinner Ashton Agar makes a comeback despite not playing a T20I since the last World Cup in 2022.

Alongside Marsh, experienced players like Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, and newcomers like Tim David and Cameron Green are set to play key roles in the campaign.

Selection chair George Bailey expressed confidence in the squad’s balance and versatility, stating, “We believe Ashton can play a critical role in this tournament along with Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Cam Green and Mitch Marsh in complementing our front-line attack options.”

Bailey acknowledged the difficulty in finalizing the squad, noting that many deserving players had to be left out. He hinted at the possibility of alterations to the squad before the tournament begins on June 5.

Marsh, who will lead Australia in his first major tournament as captain, expressed his excitement, saying, “It’s been an immense privilege to play for my country and now an even greater honour to lead the squad to a World Cup.”

Australia will commence their title defense against Oman on June 5, followed by Group B matches against England, Namibia, and Scotland.

Teams have until May 25 to make changes to their squads, after which alterations will require approval from the ICC’s Event Technical Committee.

Australia squad

Mitchell Marsh (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, and Adam Zampa.

Related articles

Chief of Air Staff to review passing out parade at INA Saturday

Kannur (Kerala): Chief of Air Staff, Air Chief Marshal Vivek Ram Chaudhari will Saturday review the Passing Out...

FTII Pune wins top prize at Cannes Film School competition

Cannes: "Sunflowers Were the First Ones to Know", an entry from the Film and Television Institute of India...

Not every party is run by dictator: AAP tells PM

Chandigarh: The Aam Aadmi Party has hit back at PM Narendra Modi for his statement calling Punjab Chief...

Trump claims most Gaza hostages dead, reason why talks unproductive

Washington: Former President Donald Trump said during a campaign rally in New York City that he believes most...