40.6 C
Monday, May 20, 2024

Round-1 of National 2W Drag races tomorrow, 100 in fray


Share post:


Chennai: The MMSC-FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Drag Racing Championship 2023 powered by Vamcy Merla is set to take off at the Madras International Circuit here tomorrow with a new look.

The 2023 Championship, comprising four rounds, has received a big boost with Vamcy Merla offering support.

This has greatly benefitted the competitors as the top three finishers in various categories will receive start-money from promoters Madras Motor Sports Club (MMSC).

About 100 entries have been received for the first of the four rounds of the championship that will be held on the drag strip at the MIC aided by imported timing equipment.

The list includes a record 14 entries in the Girls’ category. All the 2022 National champions in various categories are back to defend their titles and they include – Alimon, Hemanth Muddappa (Mantra Racing), Abdul Shaikh and Prashanth (all from Bengaluru), Bharath Raj (Chennai, Rockers Racing) and Lani Zena Fernandez (Puducherry, RACR Castrol Power Ultimate 1).

On view for two-wheeler enthusiasts will be a mix of powerful superbikes like the BMW, Hayabusa and Kawasaki Ninja, along with a clutch of home grown machines specially prepared for the drag competition.

The two-day event has practice runs followed by the final runs.

Related articles

21.11 pc polling in first four hours in Bihar

Patna: An estimated 21.11 percent of more than 95.11 lakh electorate exercised their franchise till 11 AM in...

China sweeps men’s 400m T54 medals at Para Athletics World Championships

Kobe, Japan: China impressed the Universiade Memorial Stadium in Kobe with a clean sweep of all three medals...

Hope people of Baramulla come out to vote: Omar Abdullah

Srinagar: National Conference Vice President Omar Abdullah on Monday expressed hope that people of Baramulla Lok Sabha constituency...

Voters queue up as polling gets underway in J&K’s Baramulla LS seat

Baramulla: Once known for boycotting the elections, several such voters in Jammu and Kashmir's Baramulla Lok Sabha constituency...