34.1 C
Thursday, July 25, 2024

Hockey India names 20-member Indian Junior Women’s Hockey Team for 4 Nations Tournament


Share post:


New Delhi: Hockey India on Wednesday announced the 20-member Indian Junior Women’s Hockey Team that will participate in the 4 Nations Tournament from August 18 to 23 at Dusseldorf, Germany.

India will play against England, Spain, and hosts Germany in the tournament, which will be part of the team’s preparations for the all-important 2023 Women’s FIH Hockey Junior World Cup, scheduled to be played in Santiago, Chile from November 29 to December 10.

The team will be led by talented defender Preeti and Vice Captained by skilful midfielder Rutuja Dadaso Pisal, the Hockey India sources said.

The goalkeeping department will be entrusted to the talented duo of Madhuri Kindo and Khushboo, while the defenders’ list includes Preeti, Ropni Kumari, Anjali Barwa, Neelam, and Thounaojam Nirupama Devi.

Meanwhile, the midfield will witness the presence of dynamic players like Rutuja Dadaso Pisal, Manju Chorsiya, Sakshi Rana, Sujata Kujur, Bhumiksha Sahu, Jyoti Singh, Mahima Tete, and Hina Bano.

In the forward department, the team boasts a formidable line-up consisting of Annu, Deepika Soreng, Sunelita Toppo, Kajal Sadashiv Atpadkar, and Mumtaz Khan.

Speaking on the tour, Indian Women’s Junior Team Coach Tushar Khandker said, “The 4 Nations Tournament will be a great opportunity for our team to prove their mettle on an international stage again and implement our learnings from practice sessions.”

“Also, the tournament presents an ideal opportunity to hone our tactics and gauge our abilities against formidable opponents. This event will serve as a crucial means to pinpoint areas for enhancement, playing a pivotal role in our readiness for the Junior World Cup. We firmly believe

that this valuable exposure will elevate our performance and equip us to confront the forthcoming challenges with confidence,” he added.

Indian Team:


1. Madhuri Kindo

2. Khushboo


3. Preeti (C)

4. Ropni Kumari

5. Anjali Barwa

6. Neelam

7. Thounaojam Nirupama Devi


8. Rutuja Dadaso Pisal (VC)

9. Manju Chorsiya

10. Sakshi Rana

11. Sujata Kujur

12. Bhumiksha Sahu

13. Jyoti Singh

14. Mahima Tete

15. Hina Bano


16. Annu

17. Deepika Soreng

18. Sunelita Toppo

19. Kajal Sadashiv Atpadkar

20. Mumtaz Khan.

Related articles

Opposition lowering dignity of budget session: Rijiju

New Delhi: Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kiren Rijiju on Thursday slammed Opposition leaders for creating ruckus in Parliament and...

SC: States can levy royalty on mineral rights

New Delhi: A nine-judge constitutional bench of the Supreme Court on Thursday held by an 8:1 majority that...

Telangana Cabinet clears state annual budget 2024-25

Hyderabad: The Telangana Cabinet head by Chief Minister A Revanth Reddy, approved the full fledged budget for 2024-25,...

Putin meets with Syrian President Assad in Moscow

Moscow: Russian President Vladimir Putin has held a meeting with Syrian President Bashar Assad in the Kremlin, a...