32.8 C
Thursday, June 13, 2024

India squad for SAFF U-19 Women’s Championship announced


Share post:


New Delhi: The U19 Women’s National Team head coach Sukla Dutta, on Monday, announced a 23-member squad for the SAFF U19 Women’s Championship 2024 scheduled  to take place in Dhaka, Bangladesh from February 2 to 8.

The Young Tigresses will depart for Bangladesh on Tuesday.

The Indian U19 girls, who finished runners-up in the 2021 edition, will open their campaign against Bhutan on February 2 followed by defending champions Bangladesh on February 4 and Nepal on February 6.

The tournament will be played in a round robin format with the top two teams after the league round will face each other in the final. All the matches will be played at the Mostafa Kamal Stadium in Dhaka. The matches will be live streamed on Sportzworkz YouTube Channel, an All India Football Federation (AIFF) sources said.

The 23-member squad:

Goalkeepers: Khushi Kumari, Anika Devi Sharubam, Hempriya Seram

Defenders: Heena Khatun, Vikshit Bara, Sonibia Devi Irom, Juhi Singh, Nishima Kumari

Midfielders: Shivani Toppo, Lalita Boypai, Akhila Rajan, Rivka Ramji, Arina Devi Nameirakpam,

Cindy Remruatpuii Colney, Menaka Devi Lourembam, Sibani Devi Nongmeikapam, Thoibisana Chanu Toijam

Forwards: Babita Kumari, Nitu Linda, Sulanjana Raul, Neha, Pooja, Sahena TH

Head Coach: Sukla Dutta

India’s fixtures at the SAFF U-19 Women’s Championship:

February 2: India vs Bhutan, 2.30 PM IST

February 4: Bangladesh vs India, 6.30 PM IST

February 6: India vs Nepal, 2.30 PM IST

February 8: Final (Top two teams), 5.30 PM IST.

Related articles

Fire in Kuwait Claims 41 Indian Workers

On a tragic Wednesday in southern Kuwait, a devastating fire in the Al-Mangaf building claimed the lives of...

Delhi Water Crisis: SC questions AAP govt on ‘tanker mafia’ measures

New Delhi: The Supreme Court Wednesday came down heavily on the national capital's Aam Aadmi Party government over...

Sitharaman takes over as FM; vows to continue with NDA’s dev agenda

New Delhi: Continuing her role in the previous government, Nirmala Sitharaman on Wednesday took charge as Union Finance...

J&K: Five Army soldiers, SPO injured, CRPF jawan succumbs in twin terror attacks in Doda, Kathua

Jammu: Five Army soldiers and a Special Police Officer (SPO) of Jammu and Kashmir police suffered injuries, while...