44.1 C
Thursday, June 13, 2024

Turkish military kills 4 YPG members in N. Syria


Share post:


Ankara: At least four members of the Syrian Kurdish People’s Protection Units (YPG) were killed by Turkish forces in northern Syria, Turkiye’s Defense Ministry said on Tuesday.

The Turkish Armed Forces “neutralized” the YPG members after they opened “harassment fire” in places where Turkiye carried out operations, the ministry said in a statement.

“We continue to respond to the terrorists who want to disrupt the peace and security of the people in Syria,” said the ministry.

Turkish authorities often use the term “neutralized” in their statements to imply the surrender or death of terrorists.

The confrontation between the Turkish military and the YPG in northern Syria has intensified in the past few weeks. Five YPG members were killed by the Turkish forces in northern Syria when they were “preparing an attack,” the ministry said on Friday.

The Turkish army has launched several operations since 2016 in northern Syria to create a YPG-free zone along its border with the neighboring country.

Turkiye sees the YPG group as the Syrian branch of the outlawed Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK).

The PKK, listed as a terrorist organization by Turkiye, the United States and the European Union, has rebelled against the Turkish government for more than three decades.

Related articles

The Resistance Front: A Rising Threat in Jammu and Kashmir

I crossed paths with the 'The Resistance Front (TRF)' when a grenade was launched at the home of...

Police attach residential house of a terror association in J&K’s Anantnag

Srinagar: Police on Thursday attached the property of an alleged terror associate in Jammu and Kashmir’s Anantnag district. Police...

Macron says Iran released French national Louis Arnaud arrested in 2022

Paris: French President Emmanuel Macron has said that Iran has released French national Louis Arnaud, who was arrested...

Nadal, Alcaraz included in Spanish tennis team for Paris 2024

Madrid: New French Open champion Carlos Alcaraz and veteran Rafael Nadal, who has won a record 14 times...