40.1 C
Saturday, May 25, 2024

ZPM looks set for landslide win in Mizoram elections


Share post:


Aizawl: In a remarkable electoral feat fuelled by a robust anti-incumbency sentiment, Mizoram’s youngest political party, the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM), appeared on track for a landslide win by dislodging the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) as the vote count progressed for the state’s 40-seat Assembly on Monday.

ZPM has already secured victory in 11 seats and continues to lead in 15 more, as per the latest data on the Election Commission of India (ECI) website.

The MNF, which has 27 seats in the current Assembly, is trailing far behind winning two seats and establishing leads in nine other constituencies.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was leading in two seats and the Indian National Congress in only one.

Among the triumphant ZPM candidates is the renowned football promoter Lalnghinglova Hmar, widely known as Tetea Hmar. He emerged victorious by defeating the formidable incumbent Lalruatkima of the ruling Mizo National Front in Aizawl West-II.

Adding to the party’s success, retired Indian footballer Jeje Lalpekhlua, contesting from South Tuipui constituency triumphed over MNF stalwart Dr R Lalthangliana.

In Aizawl North-III, K Sapdanga, a former journalist turned politician, was leading over the ruling party MLA Lalmuanpuia.

In what might turn out as the day’s biggest upset, Chief Minister and MNF chief Zoramthanga was trailing by over 2000 votes to ZPM nominee and former MLA Lalthansanga in the Aizawl East-1 seat.

State Congress president Lalsawta lost the Aizawl West-III constituency to ZPM candidate V L Zaithanzama.

Another Congress stalwart who bit the dust was Zodintluanga. He lost his traditional constituency Thorang, from where he was elected for four consecutive terms.

ZPM, formed in 2017, faced the Mizoram assembly elections in 2018, getting eights seats, of which six were from Aizawl city constituencies.

Related articles

Chief of Air Staff to review passing out parade at INA Saturday

Kannur (Kerala): Chief of Air Staff, Air Chief Marshal Vivek Ram Chaudhari will Saturday review the Passing Out...

FTII Pune wins top prize at Cannes Film School competition

Cannes: "Sunflowers Were the First Ones to Know", an entry from the Film and Television Institute of India...

Not every party is run by dictator: AAP tells PM

Chandigarh: The Aam Aadmi Party has hit back at PM Narendra Modi for his statement calling Punjab Chief...

Trump claims most Gaza hostages dead, reason why talks unproductive

Washington: Former President Donald Trump said during a campaign rally in New York City that he believes most...