16.1 C
Saturday, December 9, 2023

Md Sahabuddin sworn in as 22nd president of Bangladesh


Share post:


Dhaka: Mohammed Shahabuddin has been sworn in as the 22nd president of Bangladesh.

Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury conducted the oath-taking ceremony at the Bangabhaban Darbar Hall at 11 am on Monday.

Outgoing president Md Abdul Hamid, the only person in Bangladesh who has held the post of president for 10 years in two consecutive terms, was also onstage.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, Chief Justice Hasan Foez Siddique, the new president’s wife Rebeka Sultana and the departing president’s wife Rashida Khanam were in attendance.

Cabinet Secretary Mahbub Hossain moderated the ceremony.

Shahabuddin, an Awami League candidate, was elected uncontested on Feb 13. Some people held the post multiple times. Hence, Shahabuddin is the 17th person to take the office.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

‘Serious misdemeanours call for severe punishment’, says Ethics Committee report as TMC MP Mahua Moitra stands expelled from LS

On Friday, December 8, TMC MP Mahua Moitra was expelled from the Lok Sabha, in the ‘cash-for-query’ case....

RBI keeps repo rate unchanged at 6.5 pc, raises FY24 GDP growth forecast to 7 pc

Mumbai: As widely expected by markets and policy-watchers, the Reserve Bank of India's (RBI) Monetary Policy Committee (MPC)...

Centre should withdraw ban on ethanol production- Raju Shetty

Kolhapur: Swabhimani Shetkari Sanghatana (SSS) National president and former MP Raju Shetty on Friday demanded to withdraw the...

Spain defeats India 4-1 at FIH Hockey Junior World Cup

Kuala Lumpur: The Indian Junior Men’s Hockey Team went down 4-1 to Spain in their second match of...