17.1 C
Monday, December 4, 2023

BJD MLA Saluga Pradhan elected unopposed as Deputy Speaker of Odisha Assembly


Share post:


Bhubaneswar: G Udaygiri BJD MLA Saluga Pradhan was elected unopposed as Deputy Speaker of Odisha Legislative Assembly on Tuesday, the inaugural day of the Winter session of the Assembly.

Leader of the house Naveen Patnaik moved a motion that Saluga Pradhan, a member of this house be chosen as the Deputy Speaker of this house and it was supported by Parliamentary Affairs Minister Niranjan Pujari.

Speaker Pramila Mallik then declared Pradhan as the Deputy Speaker of the house.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik congratulated Prdhan on being elected as the Deputy Speaker and requested all members of the house to extend their support and cooperation wholeheartedly to the Deputy Speaker in discharging his duties.

Pradhan thanked all the members of the Assembly for electing him as the Deputy Speaker and expressed hope that all members would collectively maintain the dignity of the House.

On Monday Pradhan had alone filed nomination for the the post of Deputy Speaker.

The post of the Deputy Speaker had been lying vacant since November 8 last after Deputy Speaker Rajani Kanta Singh resigned from the post.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

‘Paanchvi baar Mama ki sarkar’, say people as BJP leads in Madhya Pradesh

With the BJP leading the voting trends in Madhya Pradesh, it is clear that the party is moving...

‘We humbly accept the mandate’, says Ashok Gehlot, to handover resignation today

After the counting trends have shown that the BJP will be forming the government in Rajasthan; in his...

Rajasthan continues with ‘alternate tenure’ trend as BJP leads in state

It was on November 25, 2023, that the citizens of the largest state of the country, Rajasthan, went...

Amit Panghal & Shiva Thapa clinch gold at National Boxing Championships

Shillong: Heavy favourites Amit Panghal (51kg) and Shiva Thapa (63.5kg) powered their way to impressive victories as they...