12.8 C
Sunday, February 25, 2024

DMK won big in Tamil Nadu Elections


Share post:


Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) translating to Dravidian Progressive federation led by Stalin has come into power after a decade. According to ‘Protect Core Exit Poll by’ Goa Chronicle also predicted the win of DMK.

DMK- Congress alliance won the Tamil Nadu Elections, defeating the ruling party AIADMK by securing over 150 seats out of 234 seats. AIADMK have secured 70 seats. To emerge as the winner a party had to cross a mark of 118, the polls were held on 6th April and the counting was done on Tuesday. It is expected that Tamil Nadu Elections would shape the upcoming political future in the absence of the two most dynamic leaders Late J. Jayalalithaa and Late M Karunanidhi as the death of the two brought a lot of changes in the political arena. Many have been racing for the seat and internal conflicts among the parties were observed as the alliances did not conduct rallies together.

The Election Manifesto of DMK-Congress alliance

1.  Providing a universal Basic income of Rs1000 for women who are homemakers.

2.   DMK has promised to waive off education loans for students below 30 years.

3.   Free data and tablets for students studying in government schools and colleges.

4.  Single Mothers (above 50 years), Sri Lankan Refugees, Widowed women would get a payout of Rs15,00 to 30 Lakh.

Party General Secretary of DMK Durauimurugan has asked all MLAs to attend the meeting which is kept on 04th May to elect MK Stalin as the leader. He has requested all the MLAs to be there without fail. The MLAs will meet at the headquarters of DMK at Anna Arivalaym. After MK Stalin is elected to form the next government, Governor Banwarilal Purohit would be intimated by DMK about the same for DMK to submit a list of Designated Ministers.

7th May 2021, MK Stalin to take Oath as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu. DMK President MK Stalin said on Sunday ‘considering the pandemic the swearing ceremony would be simple’.

Congratulatory messages poured in for MK Stalin and his party.

Rajnikanth wished MK Stalin and his party saying “I wish my friend MK Stalin all the best for the forthcoming term as Chief Minister. May he perform to the fullest satisfaction of all the people in Tamil Nadu.”



While talking to the media, MK Stalin said “DMK would make sure that we will fulfil all the promises made in the mandate, we will also implement the 10-year vision statement released by me.’’

Who can get the Key positions in Stalin’s Cabinet?

According to reports Duraimurugan who contested in Katpadi won from a small margin would be the first one to choose the portfolio as he is Mk Stalin’s second in command.

Finance portfolio: PTR Thiyagarajan won Madurai with a margin of over 33,000 votes.

Reports also suggest that Duraimurugan could also choose a Finance portfolio and depending on what Duraimurugun picks first would be handed over to him. The health department would likely be given to MA Subramanian Former Mayor of Chennai or it could be given to Thangam Thennarasu. Thangam Thennarasu was the Minister for School Education of Tamil Nadu during 2006-2011.

Anbil Mahesh, a close friend of Youth secretary Udhayanidhi Stalin would also get a place in the Cabinet.

Education Minister, Thoothukudi MP Geetha Jeevan is being considered for Child welfare and Education Minister.

Kamal Hassan’s Defeat in Coimbatore

Vanathi Srinivasan BJP Women’s Wing National President defeated Kamal Hassan, Chief of MNM with a close margin of over 1500 votes in Coimbatore. This was Vanathi Srinivasana’s third state assembly election and had come third in 2016 after contesting from Coimbatore South.

The debut of Kamal Hassan: Actor Kamal Hassan chief of Makkal Needhi Maiam (MNM) made his debut into politics with the 2021 year Elections. Initial reports had suggested that he would fight from Chennai however he chose Coimbatore South as his constituency.

According to reports, the data from the Elections Commission of India at 10 pm showed Vanatha Srinivasana leading 45,932 votes and Kamal Hassan-45,042.

Mayura jayakuar from the Congress party was also in the race with Kamal Hassan and Vanantha Srinivasan was leading the seat however she could not reach up and was put to the third position.

[author title=”Shefali Kochhar,” image=”http://goachronicle.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/04/Screenshot_20210321-160233_LinkedIn.jpg”]Intern, Goa Chronicle . I am an entrepreneur who has tried her hands on various ventures like Electric Vehicle Charging Station , Online Retail Store / Trading and few more ventures. I have done my entrepreneurship from Amity University Noida.[/author]

DISCLAIMER: This article reflects author’s view point. Goa Chronicle may or may not subscribe to views of the author

Shefali Kochhar
Shefali Kochhar
From politics to startups 'Reflecting light on issues that go unspoken about'

Related articles

Man who put up ‘Gyanvapi Mandir’ sticker tortured by Varanasi police, implicated in false cases

In early February, it was reported that a man belonging in Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh, Roshan Pandey, who is...

Gmail says ‘here to stay’ after viral, fake message claiming end of email service

Washington: Google’s email platform Gmail said that it will continue operations, after a fake message about the end...

IMF reaches staff level agreement with Ukraine on disbursement of about $880 mln-statement

Washington: The International Monetary Fund (IMF) and Ukrainian authorities have reached a staff-level agreement on a disbursement of...

US Odysseus mission lands on Moon but signal weak, status uncertain

Washington: The Intuitive Machines Odysseus lander touched down on the Moon and sent back a weak signal to...