35.6 C
Sunday, May 19, 2024

Five MLAs from Manipur, who switched over to BJP, meet Nadda


Share post:


New Delhi: Five MLAs from Manipur, who switched over to BJP from Janata Dal (United) recently, on Sunday met party’s national president Jagat Prakash Nadda here.

Nadda welcomed them into the BJP by offering them party’s scarves at his office, in presence of Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh and state BJP president A Sharda Devi.

The five JD(U) members- Khumukcham Joykisan Singh of Thangmeiband, Ngursanglur Sanate of Tipaimukh, Achab Uddin of Jiribam, Thangjam Arunkumar of Wangkhei and L M Khaute of Churachandpur– on Friday officially merged into the BJP following a notification issued by the Manipur Assembly.

“This merger shows the love and trust entrusted by people in the leadership of PM Narendra Modi ji and BJP President JP Nadda ji,” the state unit of BJP said.

Meanwhile, the CM in a tweet while apprising the same wrote, ” With great joy, JP Nadda Ji heartily welcome the 5 JDU MLAs who got merged into BJP recently, at his office today. ”

The JD(U) won six seats in the Assembly elections held earlier this year and now it has only one MLA after five members deserted the party.

The BJP which won 32 seats now has 37 MLAs in the 60-member House.

Related articles

Accused held in Anjali murder case in Hubballi

Hubballi: Karnataka police have arrested Girish alias Vishwa, the prime suspect in the murder of 20-year-old Anjali at...

Ghatkopar tragedy: Prime accused arrested

Mumbai: The Crime Branch of Mumbai Police arrested the owner of Ego Media, Bhavesh Bhide, the prime accused...

Mumbai all set to vote on May 20

Mumbai: Mumbai City Collector and District Election Officer Sanjay Yadav appealed to all voters of Maharashtra capital district...

IDF, ISA eliminate 10 terrorists in strike on Hamas war room

Based on IDF and ISA intelligence, the IAF carried out a precise strike on a central Hamas war...