31.1 C
Saturday, September 23, 2023

Jagadish Shettar takes oath as MLC


Share post:

Bengaluru: Congress leader Jagadish Shettar took the oath of office as an MLC on Monday, along with NS Boseraju and Tipanna Kamakanur.

Shettar was recently elected unopposed as an MLA. Legislative Council Chairman Basavaraj Horatti administered the oath of office.

Just ahead of the May 10 assembly election, Shettar quit the BJP after he was refused a ticket to fight in the Hubballi-Dharwad Central constituency. However, he lost the election on a Congress ticket.

In other appointments, senior Congress MLA and former minister TB Jayachandra has been designated as Karnataka’s special representative in Delhi.

MLC Saleem Ahmed has been appointed as the chief whip of the legislative council, and Ramadurga MLA Ashok Pattan has been appointed as the chief whip of the legislative assembly.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

Has DMK put ‘Eradicate Sanatana Dharma’ into action?

Some time back, DMK minister and son of Tamil Nadu Chief Minister, Udhayanidhi Stalin, spoke at the ‘eradicating...

Kerala to hike financial aid for setting up micro ventures in handicrafts sector

Thiruvananthapuram: In a big support to the handicrafts sector, the Kerala Government has decided to steeply increase the...

Bangladesh suffers worst day of dengue with record number of deaths

Dhaka: Bangladesh has suffered its worst day yet of the dengue this year as deaths of the disease...

PM to visit Varanasi to inaugurate 16 Atal Awasiya Vidyalaya on Sep 23

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi will visit Varanasi on Saturday to inaugurate 16 Atal Awasiya Vidyalayas built...