34.1 C
Thursday, July 25, 2024

CPI-M & Congress MP team to visit post-poll violence areas of Tripura


Share post:


Agartala: Three parliamentary teams of Congress and CPI-M are scheduled to meet the victims of post-poll violence in Tripura on Friday and Saturday in the worst affected areas of West Tripura, Sepahijala, and Gomati districts and raised the issue in the parliament seeking action.

Congress president Birjit Sinha said the violence began soon after the election was over on Feb 16 in spite of the presence of central paramilitary forces, but it scaled up after the announcement of results on March 2 when BJP -led government came to power.

More than five thousand men, women, and children left their homes for the same reason.

Many people fled and took refuge in different parts of the state and outside the state. Police refuse to register even FIRs.

At least three people were killed and more than 200 people were injured after the election result, he stated.

Hundreds of houses, shops, livestock, rubber orchards, and other livelihood options of the opposition supporters and workers were set on fire and destroyed by the BJP cadres in a week in more than a thousand of attacks.

The elected representatives of CPI-M and their family members were also not spared in the violent attacks but police are playing a mere spectator role, CPI-M state secretary Jitendra Chaudhury alleged.

He pointed out that now BJP-backed miscreants have pressurized employees and businessmen to pay money for their celebration whoever refuse comes under attack and added, “We have met the police chief seeking the arrest of the culprits involved in such violence and attacks but he didn’t do anything, which seems to be an encouragement for the miscreants.”

An eight-member parliamentary team of Congress and CPI-M arrived to investigate the incidents of political terrorism in the state and would visit the affected areas in three groups comprising five Lok Sabha MPs and three Rajya Sabha MPs along with the MLAs and leaders of Congress and CPI-M.

The team comprised P R Natarajan, Gaurav Gogoi, Ranjita Ranjan, A A Rahim, Abdul Khaliq (Lok Sabha) and Bikash Ranjan Bhattacharya, Binay Vishwam, and Elaram Karim (Rajya Sabha) may call on the Chief Minister, Chief Secretary, and Director General of Police before leaving the state.

Related articles

Opposition lowering dignity of budget session: Rijiju

New Delhi: Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kiren Rijiju on Thursday slammed Opposition leaders for creating ruckus in Parliament and...

SC: States can levy royalty on mineral rights

New Delhi: A nine-judge constitutional bench of the Supreme Court on Thursday held by an 8:1 majority that...

Telangana Cabinet clears state annual budget 2024-25

Hyderabad: The Telangana Cabinet head by Chief Minister A Revanth Reddy, approved the full fledged budget for 2024-25,...

Putin meets with Syrian President Assad in Moscow

Moscow: Russian President Vladimir Putin has held a meeting with Syrian President Bashar Assad in the Kremlin, a...